Ten leading equine vets will take to the road on motorcycles this summer to deliver an unorthadox CPD tour of the UK’s vet schools, in order to raise money for charity.

Ten leading equine vets will take to the road on motorcycles this summer to deliver an unorthadox CPD tour of the UK’s vet schools, in order to raise money for charity.

Jessica KiddThe veterinarian road trip, entitled “Horse Power CPD”, will see Derek Knottenbelt, Jessica Kidd, Caroline Hahn, Josh Slater, David Bolt, Peter Brown, Peter McElroy, Mike Hewetson, Alex Dugdale and Mike Shepherd travel the country at the end of July to deliver a unique “high-intensity CPD course” lasting four to five hours.

The courses are designed to suit ordinary practicing veterinarians, and will cover the subjects of surgery, medicine, imaging and orthopaedics and anaesthesia. Sessions are free but attendees will be expected to offer a sealed donation.

Funds raised will be split between the Society for the Protection of Animals Abroad (SPANA) Disabled Riding Centre in Bamako, Mali and the BEVA Trust, which supports the education of young vets at home and abroad and fosters an interest in the developing world.

Derek KnottenbeltThe Disabled Riding Centre in Bamako helps some of the most vulnerable and deprived children in the world through riding and shows them what love is like.  It provides a respite for disabled children from the difficulties of orphanage life in a very poor part of the world.

Professor Knottenbelt, a European specialist in equine internal medicine based at the University of Liverpool’s Philip Leverhulme Hospital, said: “I believe that this is one of the most unusual and exciting CPD events that has ever been undertaken in UK or anywhere else. I really hope practices will push the boat out to attend and make suitable donations.”

To attend any of the sessions contact the relevant veterinary school using the contact details below.

VENUE DATE START BOOKING CONTACT
Liverpool (Leahurst campus) July 26 09.30 Gill Beckett (0151 794 6016)
email: beckett@liv.ac.uk
Bristol (Langforf campus) July 27 09.30

Sue Thomas  (0117 928 9280)
email: sue.thomas@bristol.ac.uk

RVC (Hawkshead campus) July 28 09.30 Jill Maddison  (01707 666 333)
email: jmaddison@rvs.ac.uk
Cambridge (Madingley Road) July 28 17.00 Avice O’Connor (01223 337 600)
email: aco28@cam.ac.uk
Nottingham (Sutton Bonnington) July 29 09.30 Emma Palfreyman (0115 951 6411)
email: Emma.Palfreyman@nottingham.ac.uk
Edinburgh (Easter Bush) July 30 13.00 David Rider  (0131 650 6281)
email: David.Rider@ed.ac.uk
Glasgow (Bearsden Road) July 31 09.30 Caroline Hutchinson / Val Small (0141 330 5706)
email: c.hutchinson@gla.ac.uk / v.small@vet.gla.ac.uk
View your activity >

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar

wpDiscuz